The beauty of a systems approach

This post is an early draft of a  much larger writing. I’m not sure I’ll find the time to elaborate on this part so I’m brain dumping it here as is…

I love to ride my MTB and I love to race. Another thing I do is deal with architects of different types (enterprise architects, business architects, information architects, IT-architects, building architects and more…) . Bringing those two domains together I created a set of rough sketches.

The sketches start from a generic systems classification model explained in the Ackoff Collaboratory.

The Systems Classification Model

 

Framing the “world” I’m interested in exploring within that classification model a model like the one below can be created. It is not a highly detailed model but it is “complete” in such a manor that it stretch across the most important elements to cover the “world” I wanted to think about.

The Systems in focus

 

When I’ve framed the “world” the next step is to find the “basic” entities at work within these systems. I created a generic model that contains the entities below. These entities are applied across all of the systems in the “world” model such that there are no other “basic” entities used. In the case of the Bicycle Computer System it is a mechanistic system made up of a mechanical and a digital system. I the apply the same generic model on all of the six systems from my “world”, creating a fractal structure.

The System Generic Model With Bicycle Computer as Example

Using the generic model one can apply it to the different systems in the world as in the case below. The simple model gives great insight into the Bicycle Computer System and could easily be used to reason about such things as why this particular type of system cannot posses a capability.

The Bicycle Computer System With Sample Data

There are some thinkings that arise regarding requirements and the notion of reference levels. I’ve sketched another set of explanatory models to visualize those ideas.

What is a Requirement
What is a Reference Level

 

This is not a tutorial in systems theories this is one way of getting people to take a systems oriented approach to thinking about enterprise architecture. For general tutorials and writings on systems theories consider the Systems science portal at Wikipedia.

Leave a Reply

